Minor League Wrap 7.3.2011

Toledo 7, Indianapolis 1 (Pirates)

Fu Te Ni (LHP) started for the Mud Hens and made it 4 1/3 innings before being replaced. Ni did not factor in the decision but looked good as he allowed just 3 hits and 3 walks with no runs. Matt Hoffman (LHP) ended up earning the win after 3 solid innings – his only blemish was a solo homer.

Carlos Guillen went 0-1 and was lifted for a pinch hitter in the 4th. Ryan Strieby (1B) went 1-4 with a HR and 2 RBI.  Argenis Diaz (3B) went 2-4 with a double and two runs scored.

Erie 6, Akron 2 (Indians)

Erie scored 5 runs in the bottom of the 1st and lead this contest wire to wire for the win. Jay Voss (LHP) started and lasted 7 innings before giving way to Robbie Weinhardt. Voss gave up 2 ER on 6 hits and walk while striking out 8. Weinhard held Akron scoreless over two innings.

Rawley Bishop (1B) was 1-2 from the plate and walked twice. Bishop picked up two RBI to lead the way for Erie. Bertram (DH) went 2-3 with a double, 2 runs scored, a walk, and a RBI.

Lakeland 3, Clearwater 11 (Phillies)

Drew Smyly (LHP) was the recipient of some poor Lakeland defense as Smyly was charged with 7 runs, 4 earned, over 3 innings. Smyly was the losing pitcher and dropped his record to 4-3. Larez and Newman combined to allow 4 ER over 5 innings.

All 3 Lakeland runs were driven in by Tony Plagman (1B) who went 1-4 with a double. Jordan Lennerton (DH) went 0-4 with a golden sombrero.

West Michigan 1, Fort Wayne 2 (Padres)

Kyle Ryan started for the ‘caps and lasted 6 innings. He gave up 5 H, 1 BB, 1 ER, and K’ed 4. Patrick Cooper (RHP) dropped to 3-5 on the year after 2 1/3 innings of relief in which he gave up an ER on 3 hits and a walk.

Nick Castellanos (3B) drove in the lone West Michigan run and went 1-4 from the dish. Hernan Perez (2B) went 1-4, as did Brantley (C).