Tigers announce 2008 NRI’s

The Tigers today announced 21 non-roster invites. These are players in the organization who aren’t on the 40 man roster, but will be in the big league camp during Spring Training. They are:

  • Francis Beltran
  • Joe Bowen
  • Michael Hollimon
  • Matt Joyce
  • Freddy Dolsi
  • Dusty Ryan
  • Jeff Larish
  • Timo Perez
  • Jeff Gerbe
  • Dane Sardinha
  • Scott Sizemore
  • Wilkin Ramirez
  • Chris Lambert
  • James Skelton
  • Danny Worth
  • Clete Thomas
  • Preston Larrison
  • Max St. Pierre
  • Aquilino Lopez
  • Nick Trzesniak
  • Matt Mantei

Per usual, there are quite a few catchers and I’m happy to see Skelton in that group. The Tigers will also be taking a look at 3 of their middle infield prospects in Scott Sizemore, Michael Hollimon, and Danny Worth. If it weren’t for the Inge situation I’d think that Hollimon would have a decent shot to beat out Ramon Santiago for the utility infielder role with a strong spring. But with the Tigers bench pretty full, I don’t expect Hollimon or anyone else to surprise.